The provinces have taken a number of steps to assist local governments to meet these challenges. An increasing number of special agencies or joint boards and commissions have been created to provide certain services for groupings of municipalities. Local government revenue has been supplemented by grants from the provinces, either made unconditionally or for specific purposes. Certain functions traditionally assigned to local government have been assumed in whole or in part by the provinces. Besides encouraging the amalgamation of small units, the provinces have also established new levels of local government to provide services which can be better discharged at a regional level. "Second-tier" local governments now cover the whole of British Columbia and are planned for all of Ontario, where several now exist, and for Quebec, where three have been established. What may become a pattern for the next stage in municipal development was established in Manitoba on January 1, 1972 when the Metropolitan Corporation of Greater Winnipeg and its constituent municipalities were amalgamated into a single city.

The major local revenue source available to local government is the taxation of real property, supplemented in varying degrees by taxation of personal property, businesses and amusements. Revenue is also derived from licences, permits, rents, concessions, franchises, fines and

surplus funds from municipal enterprises.

Since a description of all forms of local government would be too complex for easy comprehension, the following paragraphs describe only municipal organization in each province and in the territories as at January 1, 1973. Table 3.6 gives the total number of each type of municipality in each province and territory.

Newfoundland. At January 1, 1973, Newfoundland had 274 incorporated areas including two cities, 93 towns, eight rural districts, 52 local improvement districts, 118 local government communities and one metropolitan area. The towns, rural districts and local improvement districts operate under the Local Government Act; towns and rural districts have elected councils and local improvement districts have appointed trustees. Local government communities are established under the Community Councils Act in the smaller settlements and have limited powers and functions. The St. John's Metropolitan Area, incorporated under a special Act, covers the area adjoining and surrounding the city of St. John's and the town of Mount Pearl and is similar in organization to a local improvement district. There are no rural municipalities in the usual sense. Only about one fifth of 1% of the total area is municipally organized. Municipalities are supervised by the Department of Municipal Affairs and Housing.

Prince Edward Island. In this province, one city and seven towns have been incorporated under special Acts and 25 villages have been established under the Village Services Act. There is no municipal organization for the remainder of the province, although it is divided into three counties which are subdivided into school sections with elected school boards. The organized municipalities are administered by the Department of Community Services.

Nova Scotia. This province is geographically divided into 18 counties; 12 of these constitute separate municipalities and the remaining six are each divided into two districts or municipalities, making a total of 24 rural municipalities. Within and under the jurisdiction of these municipalities there are 25 incorporated villages that provide limited services. In addition, there are three cities operating under special charters and special legislation and 38 towns operating under the Town Incorporation Act. Although geographically located within counties or districts, cities and towns are entirely independent of them except as to joint expenditures. There is no part of the province that is not municipally organized. Supervision of municipalities is exercised through the Department of Municipal Affairs.

New Brunswick. In New Brunswick municipal organization now includes six cities, 21 towns and 96 villages. The remainder of the province is not municipally organized and is administered by the provincial government. There are 196 unincorporated local service districts established to provide services that are municipal in nature but these are administered by the Department of Municipal Affairs and are not municipal organizations. Municipalities are supervised by the Department of Municipal Affairs.

Quebec. The more densely settled areas of Quebec, comprising about one third of the area of the province, are municipally organized; the remainder is governed by the province as "territories". The organized area is divided into 74 county municipalities which look after matters of general interest within the county. Cities and towns are excluded from the county system